Programs and Applications

Programs and Applications

CDBG Program

The CDBG funds are provided to the City on an annual basis to meet the three National Objectives:

  1. Meet the needs of low-to moderate-income individuals and families;
  2. Address slums or blight; or
  3. Meet an urgent need.

The City's 2017-18 CDBG Action Plan draft will head to the City Council for final adoption on a date to be determined pending the federal budget.



HUD sets income limits that determine eligibility for the CDBG program. HUD develops income limits based on Median Family Income estimates and Fair Market Rent area definitions for each metropolitan area, parts of some metropolitan areas, and each non-metropolitan county. To view the HUD Income Limits website, click here.


The City of Lewiston, Nez Perce County FY 2017 Income Limits Summary is as follows (effective date 04/14/2017):

FY 2017 Income Limit Area Median Income
FY 2017 Income Limit Category
Persons in Family
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Nez Perce County
$54,200  Very Low (50%) Income Limits
 19,800 22,600 25,450 28,250 30,550 32,800 35,050 37,300
Extremely Low Income Limits
 12,060 16,240 20,420 24,600 28,780 32,800* 35,050* 37,300*
Low (80%) Income Limits
 31,650 36,200 40,700 45,200 48,850 52,450 56,050 59,700

*The FY 2014 Consolidated Appropriations Act changed the definition of extremely low-income to be the greater of 30/50ths (60%) of the Section 8 very low-income limit or the poverty guideline as established by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), provided that his amount is not greater than the Section 8 50% very low-income limit. Consequently, the extremely low income limits may equal the very low (50%) income limits.